20 Days.

It’s really hitting me now.. I have 20 days until my best friend leaves for basic training in the Air Force. Yeah, he will only be a couple hours away, but for 9 whole weeks. 9 weeks of being separated from my best friend, and then 2 years after that. And then who knows after that.. It’s gonna be tough. This guy has been there for me through soooo much, and we have been through a lot together. We became friends my sophomore year of highschool. I admit, I had a crush on him once we started talking and I got to know him. So that summer, my other best friend, Morgan,hinted to him about my feelings, and he said he only wanted to be friends. Of course I was hurt when she told me the news, but the cool part was, he meant what he said, because not one thing changed between us. There was absolutely no awkward stage after that. We just, went back to how we were, and got even closer. Junior year came along, my feelings for him not fading one bit, but still we ended up getting even closer. Then senior year, the year we pronounced ourselves best friends lol. And I know it was true, because that was also the year I made him a giant birthday card, the year we got into multiple stupid arguments, but couldn’t stay mad at each other for more than a day, if even a full day. We talked pretty much every single day that year, during and after school. Even when we didn’t have a class together second semester, we made a little 2 minute gap between 2nd and 3rd pd for a hug and some small talk, and a good 5 minutes at lunch, because we had separate lunches as well. Senior year was also the year I gave it one more shot at confessing my feelings to him. I wrote him a letter, as his graduation gift, talking about all the memories we’ve had and how much I love having him as my best friend, and at the end, I told him that I’d like to have chance with him, as more than best friends. But I also said I would understand if he didn’t wanna be anything more than best friends, because I love our relationship as is as well, and he knew that. So, I gave him this letter on a Friday after school, 2 weeks before graduation. He didn’t have a phone at the time, so I just had to wait until Monday for a response. Monday rolled around and I was pretty nervous. I saw him, and he acted completely normal, but it was just a passing by in the hall. Later on, Marcy called me saying she saw him with his phone, I was a little upset at that point, so I spent my lunch period with Marcy in her class instead. We went to meet him after her class, at his class down the hall. I, of course, was all “No phone, huh?” He responds with, “I just got it on Friday!” I say, “Oh, and you couldn’t text me all weekend?” His response, “I didn’t have any numbers! Just text me later, okay?” So I just stared at him with a face of whatever and said “alright, alright, I’ll talk to you later.” lol. So I texted him later, and actually ended up giving him a ride home after his powerlifting practice that day too, and on the ride home and whole time chillin outside his house, everything was 100% normal. The next day, I texted him asking if he had read the last part of the letter, and what he though about it. In return, he sent me a fairly long text, explaining that he didn’t want to be more than best friends, and his reasons were legitimate. He also said he had a feeling I liked him the entire time, which I found amusing lol cause, even after somewhat knowing I liked him the entire time, he never once acted awkward, different, or weird with me. He was always real with me. And after that convo, in a matter of minutes we were already back to normal. I have a pretty unique relationship with this guy, if I do say so myself lol. I liked him before I was even close friends with him, and we still managed to become best friends. And I’m sure you can tell that he means the world to me and I care about him with all my heart. So, now I’m in my first year of college, he got a job at a restaurant, so of course Marcy and I went and requested him as a waiter, just to harass him a bit hahaha! But hey, we left him good tips lol! He doesn’t work there anymore though, he quit last month as his leave date was getting closer. So since he quit, Marcy and I pay a visit to his house at least twice a week for a bit just to chit chat and be mean to each other haha. And now, I’m down to my last 3 weeks with him. My last 3 weeks with my best friend just down the road. 3 weeks to make a few more memories, have a few more laughs, a few more hugs, and a few more hang out days. It freaks me out and is quite emotional to be honest..it makes my stress levels just skyrocket. I’m just so used to seeing him at least once or twice a week. It’s just gonna be a big change that I don’t know if I’m ready for, but I have to be. I just hope these last 3 weeks go by sssllloooowwwww. I’m gonna miss my best friend like crazy. I have no idea what I’d do without him, there is NEVER a dull moment with him around. We have countless memories and everytime I think of one, I can’t help but smile.(: I am so blessed to have that boy as my best friend, and I know we will always be best friends. I wish he didn’t have to go.. but, I’m so proud of that boy and support him every step of the way on his Air Force journey. I love him.

Until next time loves!

-MidnightMind :*

Leave a comment